Databases
The Library has subscriptions to the following full-text databases.
- InfoTrac® (Magazines, Newspapers & Reference Books)
- Digital Books from OverDrive
- EBSCO Literary Reference Center
- Facts on File African-American History Online
- Facts on File American History Online
- Facts on File American Women's History Online
- Grove Art Online
- HeritageQuestOnline Genealogy Database
- Issues and Controversies
- Learning Express Library
- Massachusetts History Online
- Mass. Newspapers through Newsbank & Proquest
- New York Times (1995-)
- NoveList: Finding a Good Book to Read
- Quikan Chinese Language Database
- ReferenceUSA Business Directory
- Science Online
- World Book Online
Database Descriptions
Infotrac® (Magazines, Newspapers & Reference Books)
An electronic reference database to full-text articles from magazines, newspapers, encyclopedias, business directories, and reference books. It is accessible in the library or by remote access (click on remote for directions) with a Massachusetts library card. Funded by the Massachusetts Regional Library Systems.
The following databases are included. You may click on any individual database.
Infotrac OneFile a place for one stop searching for news and magazine articles on a variety of topics.
General Reference Center Gold for general magazine and newspaper articles from 1980 to the present. Also includes access to numerous encyclopedias, dictionaries, and reference books.
Academic OneFile one stop searching in peer-reviewed, scholarly journals in arts, sciences, and humanities.
Expanded Academic ASAP contains scholarly journals from a wide range of areas.
Biography Resource Center has more than one million biographies on notable people from around the globe through history and today.
General BusinessFile ASAP contains information on companies, broker research reports, and business newspaper and magazine articles
Contemporary Literary Criticism contains critical essays on the works of contemporary authors.
Educator's Reference Complete contains articles for educators and librarians.
Gale Virtual Reference Library is a collection of encyclopedias and specialized reference books covering a wide range of subjects. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online 24/7 from your home or office.
Health Reference Center Academic includes many current articles about health issues and information from medical books and encyclopedias.
Info Trac K-12 Junior Edition for students in middle and junior high school. Provides access to articles from magazines, newspapers, encyclopedias, dictionaries, and reference books.
Info Trac K-12 Student Edition for high school students. Provides access to articles from magazines, newspapers, encyclopedias, dictionaries, and reference books.
Kids InfoBits for students in kindergarten through grade 5 includes age-appropriate articles from magazines, encyclopedias, and reference books.
24/7 access to popular audio books and e-books directly from your home or office. OverDrive, Inc., a leading vendor of downloadable digital books for libraries, has supplied the technology for this new service. Users may read e-books, and listen to audio books on a range of devices including PCs, PDAs, and Smartphones. Patrons may also burn titles directly to CD and listen to them in the car. Most titles check out for 2 weeks and are automatically returned when due, so there are never any late fees. Patrons are notified by email when a reserved title is available for checkout. Requires a valid CW/MARS Library Network Card. Funded by the CW/MARS Library Network.
EBSCO's Literary Reference Center
Your one stop for information on 1000's of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes. Includes 27,000 plot summaries, synopses and work overviews, 140,500 author biographies, 350 literary journals, 54,000 poems, 14,500 short stories, 8400 classic texts, 4000 author interviews and more. Requires any Massachusetts Library Card.
Facts on File African-American History Online
Provides expansive and in-depth information on the people, events, and topics important to the study of African-American history. Available remotely only to CW/MARS library card holders. Available to all users in the library. Funded by the CW/MARS Library Network.
Facts on File American History Online
Spans more than 500 years of political, military, social, and cultural history, highlighting the important people and events of the American experience. Available remotely only to CW/MARS library card holders. Available to all users in the library. Funded by the CW/MARS Library Network.
Facts on File American Women's History Online
Covers the important people, events, legislation, and issues relevant to the study of women's history in the United States. Available remotely only to CW/MARS library card holders. Available to all users in the library. Funded by the CW/MARS Library Network.
Grove Art Online provides web access to the entire text of The Dictionary of Art and The Oxford Companion to Western Art, including over 3,000 thumbnail art images and line drawings. Funded by the CW/MARS Library Network. Available for all users in the library. Available remotely only to CW/MARS library card holders. Available to all users in the library.
HeritageQuest Online Genealogy Database
HeritageQuest Online includes all of the images, and extensive indexing, from the 1790 - 1930 U.S. federal censuses. It offers more than 20,000 book titles, including nearly 8,000 family histories and over 12,000 local histories. Additionally, there are more than 250 primary-source documents such as tax lists, city directories, probate records, and more. Funded by the Agawam Public Library. Available remotely only with an Agawam Public Library Card. (not valid remotely with any other card). Available for all users in the library.
A great place to find a research topic for a paper.
An authoritative online source of up-to-date, in-depth and objective information on the most prominent and hotly debated issues of the day.
It combines authoritative factual analysis, covering clear explanations of opposing points of view. It has probed more than 600 controversial topics in the news since its debut in September 1995
It includes: pro and con menu, summarizing key issues at a glance; by the numbers statistical snapshots of key issues; groups to contact for further research; interviews with experts, plus detailed guidelines for conducting interviews; and a menu listing each Issues & Controversies special issue on the annual National High School Debate Topic since 1997. Available remotely only with an Agawam Public Library Card (not valid remotely with any other card). Available for all users in the library.
Learning Express Library
A collection of practice exams for various careers, college and graduate school entrance, college placement, GED, and improvement skills tests for elementary, middle, and high school students, and adults. Sign in with your library card number as your username, and make up your own password.
Available remotely only with an Agawam Library Card. Available to all users in the library.
Massachusetts History Online
Available remotely with any Massachusetts Library Card. Also available in the library.
Massachusetts Newspapers through Newsbank and ProQuest
Republican (Springfield) through Newsbank
Made possible through Western Mass. Regional Library System, Mass. Board of Library Commissioners, and Springfield City Library. Available remotely only with a Western Mass. Library Card. Available for all users at the library.
Mass. Newspapers through Proquest
All available remotely to all Mass. Library Card Holders. Also available in the library.
Massachusetts Newsstand Searches 12 newspapers: Berkshire Eagle, Boston Globe, Boston Herald, BusinessWest (Chicopee), North Adams Transcript, Patriot Ledger (Quincy), Plymouth County Business Review, Sentinel & Enterprise (Fitchburg), The Sun (Lowell), Telegram & Gazette, Gazette (Haverhill) 12/31/92 to 8/9/97 only, Standard Times (New Bedford) 1/4/92 to 8/19/97 only.
Berkshire Eagle (2005-Present)
BusinessWest (Chicopee) (1992-Present)
Gazette (Haverhill) (12/31/92 to 8/9/97 only)
North Adams Transcript (2005-Present)
The Patriot Ledger (Quincy) (1995-Present)
Plymouth County Business Review (1991-Present)
Sentinel & Enterprise (Fitchburg) (2005-Present)
Standard Times (New Bedford) 1/4/92 to 8/19/97 only
Telegram & Gazette (Worcester) (1989-Present)
The New York Times (1995-) Available to all Mass. Library Card Holders. Also available in the library.
Novelist: Finding a Good Book to Read
This is a great resource for looking for novels. It includes children's, young adult and adult titles. Search features include match a favorite author, match a favorite title, describe a plot, browse subjects, explore fiction, and best fiction. Available remotely only to CW/MARS library card holders. Available to all users in the library. Funded by the CW/MARS Library Network.
Quikan Chinese Language Database
Access to over 100 full-text popular magazine publications from mainland China. Subjects include the arts, current events, business, health, children's literature and much more. Most titles viewable in both simplified and classical viewing styles. Coverage: 2005-present.
ReferenceUSA Business Directory
Find information on over 12 million U. S. Businesses. Funded by the Agawam Public Library. Available remotely only with an Agawam Public Library Card. Available to all users in the library.
This is available to C/W MARS library patrons in member libraries and from home (enter your library card number to log in). Remote access is limited to CW/MARS library card holders only. Available to all users at the library. Science Online contains biographies, definitions, diagrams, essays, experiments, and timelines from a broad range of scientific disciplines. Funded by the CW/MARS Library Network.
One of the best encyclopedias available to you now right from home. You can trust on World Book on being accurate and current. A great starting place for yor research. Available remotely only with an Agawam Library Card. Available to all users at the library.
Type in your library card number for access to all of the statewide databases from your home or office (or any computer outside of the library).